Skip to main content
Dr. Ismail Zakaria

All guides

Payment apps and HIPAA: what each vendor says

6 tools compared. Checked 6 Nov 2026.

Vendors treat payment data differently from other patient data, and most say little about it. We report what they publish and offer no view on how HIPAA treats payment processing.

What to do

We don’t pick a winner here. Square is the only one with BAA terms we could find. Ask your compliance advisor how HIPAA applies to your payments.

All 6 tools side by side

1 offer a BAA on at least some plans
ToolResultWhere the BAA applies
SSquareOn some plansOnly where Square acts as business associate
PPayPalNot clearNo BAA statement; Invoicing barred
SStripeNot clearNo BAA statement; terms limit PHI
VVenmoNot statedNo statement found
ZZelleNot statedNo statement found
QQuickBooksNo BAAIntuit says QuickBooks Online isn’t compliant
Listed by how openly the BAA is offered, then by name. No vendor paid for its place.
S

Square

On some plans

Square’s terms say a HIPAA covered entity or business associate whose use of Square has it handle PHI agrees to Square’s BAA, which applies only where Square acts as its business associate.

Covered: Square services where Square acts as a business associate, with Square Appointments and Invoices named as examples.

Left out: Square Buyer Services such as Square Go, Square Profile, Square Pay and Square Local Offers, and more.

See the full Square result and proof
P

PayPal

Not clear

No PayPal statement on a BAA was found; its Invoicing terms bar HIPAA-regulated users from using Invoicing in a way that makes PayPal handle PHI for them.

Left out: PayPal Invoicing with PHI.

See the full PayPal result and proof
S

Stripe

Not clear

No Stripe statement on whether it signs a BAA was found; its Services Agreement says users must not provide PHI to Stripe, in a section about third-party data.

Left out: PHI provided as third-party data under Section 4.5 of the Stripe Services Agreement.

See the full Stripe result and proof
V

Venmo

Not stated

No Venmo statement on HIPAA, PHI or a BAA was found on the pages read.

See the full Venmo result and proof
Z

Zelle

Not stated

We found no Zelle statement on HIPAA, PHI or a BAA, including in its User Service Agreement, which says the service is for personal use except eligible small businesses at certain institutions.

See the full Zelle result and proof
Q

QuickBooks

No BAA

Intuit says QuickBooks Online is not compliant with HIPAA’s privacy standards and doesn’t recommend entering individually identifiable health information. Its page doesn’t mention a BAA.

See the full QuickBooks result and proof

Before you choose

  • Confirm the BAA covers your exact plan and every feature you’ll use.
  • Get the BAA signed before any patient data goes in.
  • Turn on the settings the vendor requires, and train your staff on them.

This isn’t legal advice. A BAA is one requirement. Your clinic still has to set the tool up correctly and control who has access. Vendors change their terms, so confirm before you sign. PHI means protected health information, which includes patient data.